Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE)

The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) seminar is required of any person who has never held a regular driver's license before they can apply for a driving permit in the state of Florida. We offer a choice of a 4-hour classroom course or a 4-hour Internet course. Both formats are easy to complete, and the informative materials will make you a safer and more aware driver. And our traffic-related jokes and trivia make it fun to learn about these serious subjects. (read more)

About the Program is presented by Traffic Safety Consultants, Inc., a nationwide leader in traffic safety education and one of the largest providers of comedy traffic school courses in Florida ( with over 3 million graduates from our courses. Our entertaining traffic safety curricula will enlighten you with informative traffic-related jokes, entertaining cartoons, helpful multimedia presentations, and easy-to-read defensive driving instruction that has been authorized for use state-wide by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

Best of all, our Florida Driver Licensing Checklist gives you a simple overview of the licensing procedures so you'll understand the roadmap. Then we guide you, point-by-point, every step of the way—sharing only the details you need to know when you need to know them. We take out the confusion, so you can relax and get your license ASAP!

Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE)

The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, is a 4-hour seminar required of any person who has never held a regular driver's license prior to their application for a driving permit in the state of Florida. (Drivers who are under 21 and receive a notice of suspension for driving with a BAC of 0.02 – 0.05 must complete a TLSAE course in order to reinstate their driver license on a hardship basis.)

The Internet-based course is comprised of six easy-to-read chapters and a compelling video presentation. You must pass a 40-question final exam by correctly answering at least 32 questions (80%) in order to successfully complete the course. Completions will be electronically reported to the DHSMV, and you'll get a paper Certificate of Completion for your records.

We also have a great classroom-based TLSAE course that's led by fun and professional instructors. To reserve at spot at one of our convenient class times and locations, call us at 800-998-8533!

Only $24.95

Practice Permit Test

Our Practice Permit Test program helps you to get comfortable with the driver's permit testing process, and it allows yet another opportunity to review the material before attempting the "official" test. These dual benefits will help you to build the confidence you'll need to pass the test quickly and easily on your first try!

Our question database contains enough questions to populate three complete tests with unique questions. The low price of admission to our online Practice Permit Test program gets you two weeks' worth of access to the service (from the first time you access this program), however, and you may take practice tests as many times as you like during that period.

This course may only be taken as an add-on to our TLSAE or Permit Test courses

Online Driver's Permit Test

Unlicensed drivers under the age of 18 now have the option of taking their Driver's Permit Test via the Internet. The flexibility and convenience of this online option means you can skip the congestion, long lines, and waiting at your local DHSMV office. Instead, you'll be able to relax and pass the test from the comfort of your own home.

By DHSMV regulation, a parent must be present during the testing session. Before you access the test, your parent will be asked to provide certain identifying information and to certify statements that attest that they've monitored your test session.

Each driver's permit test (Class E Knowledge Test) consists of 50 multiple-choice subject matter questions (questions related to driving and traffic). Periodically throughout the test, you will also be asked to respond to personal identity validation questions. If you answer a personal identity validation question incorrectly (the answer does not match the answer given to that question during your registration process), you will be asked a different question; a second incorrect answer will result in the termination of your testing session (a "failure" of the test). You are allotted a total of 60 minutes to complete each attempt at the test.

You are required to correctly answer at least 40 (80%) of the subject matter questions in order to pass the test.

You are allowed three opportunities to pass the test in the online format. If you fail your first or second attempt at the test, you may attempt the test again, but will be required to pay a DHSMV-assessed retesting fee of $20 for your second and third attempts. If you fail your third attempt at an online test, you will have to go to your local DHSMV or tax collector office where you must take a paper-based version of the test; the online testing option will no longer be available to you.

Your test scores are electronically reported to the DHSMV and, like your TLSAE completion, will be available to DHSMV staff when you go to your local office to get your permit.

Our low-cost programs—including cost-saving package options—are the Cheapest in Florida. And our easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide will help you through the licensing process. So what are you waiting for? Get started today!

Only $23.95
Online Driver's Permit Test

You'll love the ease and convenience of completing your driver's permit test online! There are no long lines and no waiting, making this a huge time saver. Plus, there's far less pressure taking a potentially nerve-racking test when you're not huddled in a crowd inside a congested government building. Instead, relax and pass the test from the comfort of your own home. You'll be licensed to drive in no time! (read more)